Product Code: Book
Availability: In Stock
$6.52

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he barely knows—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up—Fans of Percy Jackson and "Kane Chronicles" (both, Disney-Hyperion) books will not be disappointed in Riordan's newest series, which is based on Norse mythology. Magnus Chase, 16, has been an orphan living on the streets of Boston for the past two years. Ever since the mysterious death of his mother, he has tried to stay ahead of anyone who might be looking for him. When his Uncle Randolph tracks him down and begins talking about his birthright—an ancient sword—Magnus's world changes forever. But Randolph is not the only one searching for the sword. A Fire Giant destined to wield it as part of doomsday is hot on their trail. Dying and winding up at the Hotel Valhalla is only the beginning of this teen's (after)life. With an epic plot, engaging (and diverse) characters, and tons of wisecracking humor, Riordan's latest is a page-turner. Those new to the author's past series can jump right in; fans of his previous works will be happy to see clever nods and references to the other in-universe books. VERDICT Ravenous Riordan fans are likely to begin lining up for this on the publication date; be prepared for long holds lists on this one.—Patrick Tierney, Dr. Martin Luther King Elementary School, Providence, RI

Review

"Norse myths are in right now, and Riordan has the magic touch." Booklist"

"This is a highly entertaining, tongue-in-cheek romp. Magnus is a witty and likable teen who proves himself worthy of redemption. The novel expertly sets up for book two and will be adored by boys and girls alike." Voice of Youth Advocates"

"Riordan offers a terrific cast that is effortlessly diverse--all of the allies stand as independent, well-constructed characters who each bring entirely different skills, histories, interests, and personalities to the group." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"

"A whirlwind of myth, action, and wry sarcasm, perfect for readers hungry for a new hit of that Percy Jackson-type magic." Horn Book"

Product details

  • File Size: 13813 KB
  • Print Length: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Disney Hyperion; 1st edition (October 6, 2015)
  • Publication Date: October 6, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00O87NWBK


Book
Language English
Author Rick Riordan