Product Code: Book
Availability: In Stock
$2.33

The world crossing, boundary breaking fantasy phenomenon for fans of Philip Pullman and Neil Gaiman. Welcome to ELSEWHERE. 

'It's totally EXCELLENT, EPIC, PERFECT! No words. Certainly one of the best fantasy books I've ever read!' Goodreads Reviewer, five stars. 

'WOW. I wish I had written this book.' Patrick Rothfuss 

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. 

On the one hand, she's a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. 

Raised half in our world, half in 'Elsewhere', she has never understood Brimstone's dark work - buying teeth from hunters and murderers - nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself.

Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

'Remarkable



Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Karou is a seventeen-year-old art student with a most unusual family. From his desk in a dusty, otherworldly shop, her mysterious, monstrous father sends her on errands across the globe, collecting teeth for a shadowy purpose. On one such errand, Karou encounters an angel, and soon the mysteries of her life and her family are unraveled--with consequences both beautiful and dreadful. National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor has created a lushly imaginative, fully realized world in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Taylor’s writing is as sumptuous as poetry, and the story overflows with dark and delightful magic, star-crossed love, and difficult choices with heartbreaking repercussions. Readers of all ages will be utterly enchanted. --Juliet Disparte

Review

Mesmerising. * Marie Claire * The world-building descriptions and language stop your heart and then, like a defibrillator, start it up again. * New York Times * Remarkable and beautifully written . . . The opening volume of a truly original trilogy. * Guardian * WOW. I wish I had written this book. * Patrick Rothfuss *

Product details

  • File Size: 2706 KB
  • Print Length: 433 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (September 29, 2011)
  • Publication Date: September 29, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005I4WA88
Book
Language English
Author Laini Taylor